PART V.—CANADA AND THE LEAGUE OF NATIONS.*

The League of Nations is an association of fully self-governing States whose relations are governed by the Covenant. The League of Nations acts through an Assembly and Council composed of representatives of Governments. Fifty-eight States are at present Members of the League, as compared with forty-two at the time of the first Assembly in 1920. Canada, as a signatory of the Treaties of Peace, is an original Member of the League.

The League of Nations has two aims: (1) to preserve peace and to seek a settlement of international disputes; and (2) to organize in the most varied spheres co-operation of peoples, with a view to the material and moral welfare of humanity.

The Covenant, which constitutes the fundamental charter of the League of Nations, was drafted in 1919 by a Commission of the Peace Conference and inserted at the head of the several Treaties of Peace. It came into force on Jan. 10, 1920.

The Organs of the League.—The organs of the League are:—

- (a) The Assembly;
- (b) The Council;
- (c) The Secretariat;
- (d) The International Labour Organization, (see Chapter XIX);
- (e) The Permanent Court of International Justice.

The Assembly.—The Assembly consists of representatives of the members of the League, and meets annually in ordinary session each September in Geneva. At the 16th Assembly in September, 1935, the Canadian Delegation was headed by the Hon. G. H. Ferguson, High Commissioner for Canada in Great Britain.

The Council.—The Council, which originally consisted of five permanent members and four non-permanent members, now consists of four permanent members (the British Empire, France, Italy, and the U.S.S.R) together with ten non-permanent members elected for three years (three retiring each year) from among the States Members of the League. The non-permanent members of the Council are at present as follows: Argentine Republic, Australia, Denmark and Portugal, terms expiring 1936; Chile, Spain and Turkey, terms expiring 1937; Ecuador, Poland and Roumania, terms expiring in 1938. Canada was a member of the Council of the League from 1927 to 1930.

The Council, which normally meets four times a year and more frequently if circumstances should require it to do so, may deal at its meetings with any matter within the sphere of action of the League or affecting the peace of the world.

The Secretariat.—The Permanent Secretariat is the Civil Service of the League. The staff is appointed by the Secretary General with the approval of the Council. The officials of the Secretariat of the League are exclusively international officials, having international and not national duties. The first Secretary General, Sir Eric Drummond, who was named in the Annex to the Covenant, resigned in 1933 and was succeeded by M. Joseph Avenol, who is assisted by three Deputy Secretaries General and by one Under-Secretary General.

^{*}A fuller article on Canada and the League of Nations, contributed by Mr. N. A. Robertson of the Department of External Affairs to the 1931 Year Book, gave information regarding the budget of the League, mandates, minorities, the economic and financial organization, the organization for communications and transit, the health organization and social and humanitarian work of the League, in addition to fuller treatment of the subjects here dealt with. This article appeared at pp. 115-122 of the 1931 Year Book. The League of Nations Society in Canada, 124 Wellington St., Ottawa, is the authorized agent for the publications of the League of Nations.